WebClick Tracer

CM Ebrahim congratulates Cotabato State University on centennial celebration

Bangsamoro Chief Minister Ahod “Al Haj Murad” Ebrahim has congratulated the Cotabato State University (CotSU) on its centennial celebration.

The official cited the significant impact of the university in shaping values and character among its students and alumni.

“This celebration is a testament to 100 years of providing quality education to the population of central Mindanao and its neighboring communities,” said Ebrahim, a former student of CatSU, during the celebration on February 8.

This year’s commemoration, themed “Honoring the University’s Centennial Milestone through Inclusivity in a Diverse Culture and Arts”, brought together alumni from batches 1950 to 2023 for a parade through the streets of Cotabato, culminating at the university oval.

Founded in 1924, the university initially existed as Cotabato High School (CHS), subsisting for almost 43 years. Later, it became Cotabato City National High School (CCNHS) from 1977 to 1983 and eventually became Cotabato City State Polytechnic College (CCSPC).

After more than three decades, former Maguindanao First District Representative Bai Sandra Sema authored House Bill 5914 to convert CCSPC to a state university for global competitiveness.

The bill, approved by both the House of Representatives and the Senate in February 2013, became Republic Act No. 10585, renaming CCSPC as Cotabato State University. Late President Benigno Simeon Aquino III signed the bill into law on May 24, 2013.

Top Stories on POLITIKO.COM.PH