WebClick Tracer

Cotabato Gov Mendoza gets ‘peace champion’ award

The Bangsamoro government has recognized Cotabato Governor Emmylou “Lala” J. Taliño-Mendoza as one of the “Ten Outstanding Bangsamoro Peace Champions.”

The award was given during the 10th anniversary of the signing of the Comprehensive Agreement on Bangsamoro (CAB) recently at Barangay Darapanan, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao del Norte.

The Cotabato provincial government said the Bangsamoro government cited Mendoza for her important contribution in the “peace process and transition” under the “government of the Philippines (GPH) and the MILF (Moro Islamic Liberation Front) Peace Talks.”

The CAB was signed on March 27, 2014 to end the decades old conflict between the Philippine government and the then-rebel MILF.

The peace deal paved the way for the creation of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Top Stories on POLITIKO.COM.PH