WebClick Tracer

SGA residents OK creation of 8 new municipalities – BARMM

The Bangsamoro people have voted for the creation of eight new municipalities from 63 barangays in Special Geographic Area (SGA) in North Cotabato.

The Bangsamoro government said the Commission on Elections officially announced this following the plebiscite held Saturday, April 13, to ratify the Bangsamoro Autonomy Act Nos. 41 to 48.

“According to the Commission on Elections (COMELEC), the plebiscite had an official voter turnout of 81.10% out of its 89,594 registered voters. Of these, 72,358 voted in favor of creating the eight new municipalities, while 273 voted ‘NO’,” the regional government said.

The eight new municipalities include Kapalawan, Old Kaabakan, Malidegao, Ligawasan, Tugunan, Nabalawag, Kadayangan, and Pahamuddin.

SGA is a territory of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao scattered in different municipalities of Cotabato province, established through a lawful plebiscite in 2019, carving out 63 barangays from the municipalities of Carmen, Kabacan, Pikit, Aleosan, Midsayap, and Pigcawayan.

Prior to the 2019 plebiscite, 67 barangays petitioned for inclusion, but only 63 barangays made it to the final list.

Top Stories on POLITIKO.COM.PH